Cross Keys
2016/2017 Principality Premiership
Cross Keys 10 v 33 Cardiff
29 April 2017 - Pandy Park, Cross Keys

Match Preview

Cross Keys v Cardiff Preview and Team News

Cross Keys welcome Cardiff to Pandy Park in the final league game of the regular Principality Premiership this Saturday.

The Blue and Blacks have struggled to make an impact since the January split in the Principality Premiership, despite the fact that they narrowly missed out on finishing in the top 8 prior to the split. Since the split the men from the capital have played 5 and lost 5, and currently prop up Tier 2 with just 4 points to show for their efforts.

Back in November in the regular Principality Premiership fixture at the Arms Park it was the home side that took the honours with a comfortable 38 points to 14 victory. Points for the Blue and Blacks on that day came via a pair of tries by Will Rees-Hole and one each for Ceri Young, James Beal and Gareth Thompson, who also kicked all 5 conversions and a penalty for his side. Keys responded with a pair of tries by Barney Nightingale which were both converted by James Thomas, against his old side.

Back to Saturday's game and the Keys have announced their side. Dragons Academy full back James McCarthy starts his first league game for Keys, having previously appeared for Keys in the Fosters Challenge Cup. On the bench Keys welcome back a familiar face in Sean Higgins, who comes in on permit from Abercarn and he is joined on the bench by back Jack Butler, who is the son of Eddie.

The Cross Keys side in full is:-

15. James McCarthy
14. Mathew Powell
13. Barney Nightingale
12. Phil Williams
11. Lloyd Lewis

10. Josh Prosser
9. James Leadbeater

1. Corey Hewlett
2. Darren Hughes
3. Richard Cornock
4. Danny Hodge
5. Tom Lampard
6. Josh Skinner
7. Scott Matthews (c)
8. Ieuan Jones

Replacements: 16. Rob Jones, 17. Lewis Smout, 18. Gary Carpenter, 19. Sean Higgins, 20. Max George, 21. Corey Howells, 22. Nathan Trowbridge, 23. Jack Butler.

Cross Keys v Cardiff Principality Premiership Tier 2
Date: Saturday 29th April 2017
Venue: Pandy Park
Kick Off: 2.30pm
Referee: Dai Cambourne